Building a VPN

So, being the holidays and everything, I thought it would be useful to be able to dial-in to my home network and get access to all my local network resources. I first tried to do this when I was in San Francisco over Putty SSH. Can I just note for everyone reading this that this is not a good idea because if anything goes wrong (like when trying to create a new bridged interface), your network connection goes down…and so does your SSH connection!

But I’ve had a bit of better luck following the howto on OpenVPN.net and have got it so that I currently have a routing connection (not bridged) up and running. So an internal IP address now accesses my server, and I’m able to access the Samba shares, and the VOIP network as well! πŸ™‚

Now, I’m just going to work on bridging the network…when I get home! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

